FAQ: Settlements

- What happens if I change something after settling up?

If you change or delete bills or payments after settling up, you may find that your positions with friends or pools change and its difficult to understand.

It is important to understand that settlements are stand-alone items that represent a set of cancelled debts with a fixed amount. If the debts that existed at the time of performing the settlement are subsequently changed or deleted, then the settlement may have settled too far in one direction or the other.

However, the new positions you see are still accurate, given the changes to the historical bills and payments, as the set of payments that were made as part of the settlement exactly represent the repaid debts.